Nightfall p. 1

The first part of my Nightfall-series.

Hello internet!

Lately I’ve been focusing more on my own writing than my web-presence. (which has been practically non-existent since my yokai-special) But I am back once again, and this time I’d like to share with you something different from my usual posts.
This is an excerpt from my very own fiction writing. It’s a fantasy story about Lisanna, a young woman with a certain fondness for killing. The story is set in a corrupt and devious world, filled to the brim with intrigue and deceit.

With that short introduction I’d like to present to you — Nightfall!

Nilassa pulled her hood over her head as she strode down the street. There was no need to conceal her face, as there was no one nearby but her, yet arrogance led to death. Stick to the basics – that was the key to surviving in her line of work.

The description she’d received for tonight’s chosen had been vague, more so than usual. Her target was supposed to be staying at a local tavern, carrying some kind of odd-shaped weapon and wearing a moth-eaten cloak. That wasn’t much to go on, considering the description applied to basically every lone wanderer in the kingdom.

However, The Night Mother had assured her she wouldn’t be able to mistake the target for anyone else. Whatever that meant, she didn’t know. Yet she had left with no further questions. Asking questions lead to… inconveniences – and you didn’t want inconveniences.

She slipped down an even darker alley, ending up outside a run-down tavern. The Whipping Taskmaster, the sign said. Tasteful.
There were voices and singing coming from inside, and the small windows shared some of their warm, inviting light with the street outside.
Nilassa took a deep breath, and stepped through the door.

 

I hope you enjoyed it, and please let me know if you did! I’ll be releasing updates every two weeks.
However, next up is that european legendary being I’ve been talking about more than I’ve written on it. It’s been delayed for far too long!

4 thoughts on “Nightfall p. 1”

Leave a Reply

